Banks in agent payments: who sits on both sides
Card networks recruited banks as issuers first. Dozens of banks have now authorized payments made by AI agents, but few bank-owned acquirers have done the same for merchants. On the documents we found, Santander is the only banking group with completed agent transactions on both sides.
Issuers are numerous by design
Visa launched Agentic Ready in Europe in March 2026 with 21 named early issuing partners, and by July reported live agent transactions with over 30 European issuers, including Barclays, HSBC UK, Lloyds and NatWest. Mastercard ran its first Agent Pay transactions with issuers in Europe, Asia-Pacific and Latin America.
The merchant side is mostly non-banks
Worldline has completed agent transactions on both networks. Adyen, Fiserv, Checkout.com and Worldpay have announced support. Among bank-owned acquirers, only Santander's Getnet has a completed transaction; J.P. Morgan Payments is in a closed beta with retailers.
One bank group on both ends
In Mexico in June 2026, Santander issued the card and Getnet accepted and processed the payment, on Mastercard Agent Pay. Crédit Agricole comes closest elsewhere: it issued the card in France's first production agent payment, but the release names Worldline's infrastructure, not an acquirer.
Bank groups by side
The strongest documented evidence on each side. Issuing means the bank's cardholder paid; acquiring means the bank's merchant business accepted the payment.
| Bank group | Issuing side | Acquiring side |
|---|---|---|
| Santander | Completed transaction Mastercard Agent Pay · Controlled test | Completed transaction Mastercard Agent Pay · Real transaction (first case; scale unknown) |
| BBVA | Completed transaction Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready · Live activity in program | Not yet reviewed |
| Barclays | Completed transaction Visa Agentic Ready · Live transactions at participating merchants | None found |
| CaixaBank | Completed transaction Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready · Live activity in program | None found |
| Commonwealth Bank | Completed transaction Mastercard Agent Pay · Controlled demonstration | Not yet reviewed |
| Crédit Agricole | Completed transaction Mastercard Agent Pay · Production (as described: "réalisée en production") | None found |
| DBS | Completed transaction Visa Intelligent Commerce · Pilot | Not yet reviewed |
| HSBC | Completed transaction Visa Agentic Ready · Live transactions at participating merchants | Not yet reviewed |
| ING | Completed transaction Mastercard Agent Pay · Production (as claimed by Worldline) | Not yet reviewed |
| Latin America cohort | Completed transaction Mastercard Agent Pay · Controlled environment | Not yet reviewed |
| Lloyds | Completed transaction Visa Agentic Ready · Live transactions at participating merchants | Not yet reviewed |
| NatWest | Completed transaction Visa Agentic Ready · Live transactions at participating merchants | Not yet reviewed |
| Revolut | Completed transaction Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready · Controlled pilot (not activated in app) | Announced capability AP2 · Announced compatibility; no completed merchant transaction found |
| Westpac | Completed transaction Mastercard Agent Pay · Controlled trial | Not yet reviewed |
| JPMorganChase | None found | Announced capability Mirakl Nexus partnership · Closed beta with select retailers |
| Citi | Listed participant Mastercard Agent Pay · Early adopter | Not yet reviewed |
| U.S. Bank | Listed participant Mastercard Agent Pay · Early adopter | Named partner (feedback) Visa Trusted Agent Protocol |
| Wells Fargo | None found | None found |
Non-bank processors
Where most of the merchant-side activity sits today.
| Processor | Acquiring side | Issuing side |
|---|---|---|
| Worldline | Completed transaction Mastercard Agent Pay; Visa Intelligent Commerce · Production (Mastercard case) and live test (Visa case) | — |
| Adyen | Announced capability Adyen Agentic (supports UCP / AP2 / ACP) · Limited availability (US enterprise) | — |
| Checkout.com | Announced capability ACP · Merchants integrating | — |
| Fiserv | Announced capability Mastercard Agent Pay Acceptance Framework; Visa Intelligent Commerce / TAP | — |
| Nexi | Announced capability AP2 / Nexi MCP (UCP planned) · Pilot merchants (Nordics and Italy) | Completed transaction Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready · Live activity in program |
| Worldpay | Announced capability ACP; Worldpay MCP | — |
Why it matters
An agent can find a brand and choose it, but the sale only happens if the payment is issued and accepted on rails that recognize the agent. A bank on both ends sees the cardholder's instruction to the agent and the merchant's acceptance of it. That matters for disputes, for fraud models trained on agent behavior, and for the commercial terms that will follow once volumes are real.
Every record, with its source
Evidence: Completed transaction, announced capability, program participant, or nothing found. Source: The organization's own release (or its network's or merchant's), or only secondary reporting. Secondary-only claims are shown as candidates. Stage: Controlled test, pilot, demonstration or production, in the organization's own words.
| Organization | Side | Program | Evidence | Stage | Date | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adyen Acquirer (non-bank) · NL |
Acquirer | Adyen Agentic (supports UCP / AP2 / ACP) | Announced capability Vendor documented |
Limited availability (US enterprise) Comparator |
2026-06-16 | Source ↗ |
| BBVA Bank · ES |
Issuer | Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Live activity in program | 2026-07 | Source ↗ |
| Garanti BBVA Bank · TR |
Issuer | Locally built solution referencing Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Demo presentation; consumer launch pending Demo with merchant Atelier Rebul; acquiring role not stated (Garanti BBVA Payment Systems GM attended). Release dated 23 Dec 2025 but filed under March 2026 on Mastercard's site |
2025-12-23 | Source ↗ |
| Barclaycard Payments Bank acquirer (Brookfield partnership) · GB |
Acquirer | — | None found | — Two searches; nothing found |
2026-10-15 | |
| Barclays Bank · GB |
Issuer | Visa Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Live transactions at participating merchants | 2026-07-02 | Source ↗ |
| CaixaBank Bank · ES |
Acquirer | — | None found | — Not yet searched beyond first pass |
2026-10-15 | |
| CaixaBank Bank · ES |
Issuer | Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Live activity in program | 2026-07 | Source ↗ |
| Checkout.com Acquirer (non-bank) · GB |
Acquirer | ACP | Announced capability Vendor documented |
Merchants integrating Comparator |
2025-11-25 | Source ↗ |
| Citi Bank · US |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Listed participant Candidate / unreviewed Secondary source only |
Early adopter | 2025-09 | Source ↗ |
| Commonwealth Bank of Australia Bank · AU |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Controlled demonstration Acquirer not named |
2026-01-28 | Source ↗ |
| CAWL (Crédit Agricole) Bank subsidiary (acquirer) · FR |
Acquirer | — | None found | — Crédit Agricole took 100% of CAWL on 30 Jun 2026 (Crédit Agricole leads acquiring, Worldline the acceptance technology). No document shows CAWL or Crédit Agricole acquiring an agentic transaction; the 25 Jun payment is attributed to Worldline’s infrastructure |
2026-10-15 | Source ↗ |
| Crédit Agricole Bank · FR |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Production (as described: "réalisée en production") Crédit Agricole named as issuing bank; Weezevent the merchant; processed end to end on Worldline’s infrastructure. Acquirer not named |
2026-06-25 | Source ↗ |
| DBS Bank Bank · SG |
Issuer | Visa Intelligent Commerce | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Pilot | 2026-02-16 | Source ↗ |
| Fiserv Processor/acquirer (non-bank) · US |
Acquirer | Mastercard Agent Pay Acceptance Framework; Visa Intelligent Commerce / TAP | Announced capability Vendor documented |
— Comparator; separate Visa collaboration announced |
2025-12-22 | Source ↗ |
| HSBC UK Bank · GB |
Issuer | Visa Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Live transactions at participating merchants | 2026-07-02 | Source ↗ |
| ING Bank · NL |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Production (as claimed by Worldline) ING cardholder at a Dutch webshop; Worldline acceptance and processing. "Europe’s first end-to-end agentic payment in production" is Worldline’s wording (Santander made a competing "first" claim in March) |
2026-06-02 | Source ↗ |
| ING Bank · DE |
Issuer | Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Live test ING authorized as issuer; merchant AI agent; Worldline processing; Germany |
2026-07-02 | Source ↗ |
| J.P. Morgan Payments Bank (acquirer arm) · US |
Acquirer | Mirakl Nexus partnership | Announced capability Vendor documented |
Closed beta with select retailers | 2026-03-10 | Source ↗ |
| JPMorganChase Bank · US |
Issuer | — | None found Secondary source only |
— Engaged but no issuer product announced. American Banker calls JPMorganChase the largest US card issuer and merchant acquirer |
2026-10-07 | Source ↗ |
| 16 other Latin American issuers and processors Banks and processors · LAC |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Controlled environment BAC, Banco de la Nación Argentina, Banco Falabella, Banco Galicia, Banco Itaú, Banco Ripley, Banco Security de BICE, Bancolombia, Banamex, Cencosud-Scotiabank, Davivienda, Dock, Evertec, Oriental Bank, Pomelo, ueno bank. Dock, Evertec and Pomelo are processors. No acquirers named |
2026-03-24 | Source ↗ |
| Lloyds Banking Group Bank · GB |
Issuer | Visa Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Live transactions at participating merchants | 2026-07-02 | Source ↗ |
| NatWest Bank · GB |
Issuer | Visa Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Live transactions at participating merchants | 2026-07-02 | Source ↗ |
| Nexi Group Paytech (acquirer; non-bank) · EU |
Acquirer | AP2 / Nexi MCP (UCP planned) | Announced capability Vendor documented |
Pilot merchants (Nordics and Italy) No completed merchant transaction found |
2026-03-04 | Source ↗ |
| Nexi Group Paytech (managed issuer; non-bank) · EU |
Issuer | Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Live activity in program Release does not name the card issuer or merchant or state Nexi's exact role in the transaction; Nexi issues on behalf of 100+ partner banks |
2026-07-02 | Source ↗ |
| Revolut Bank · GB/EU |
Acquirer | AP2 | Announced capability Vendor documented |
Announced compatibility; no completed merchant transaction found Revolut Pay for Revolut Business merchants. No completed merchant transaction found |
2026-01-19 | Source ↗ |
| Revolut Bank · FR (French card) |
Issuer | Visa Intelligent Commerce / Agentic Ready | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Controlled pilot (not activated in app) Merchant (Cleverbridge) release: Revolut authorized as issuer, inside a pilot. Revolut was not on the acquiring side of this transaction. Revolut/Visa first reported 8 Sep 2026 (The Paypers) |
2026-09-24 | Source ↗ |
| Getnet (Mexico) Bank subsidiary (acquirer) · MX |
Acquirer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Real transaction (first case; scale unknown) Mastercard release: Santander supplied the card; Getnet accepted and processed; Mastercard local clearing. Both ends at GROUP level: issuing entity named only as Santander (likely Santander Mexico) and Getnet is a separate subsidiary |
2026-06 | Source ↗ |
| Getnet (Santander) Bank subsidiary (acquirer) · Global |
Acquirer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Announced capability Vendor documented |
Initial availability (merchants with own agents) Compatibility enabled |
2026-06-09 | Source ↗ |
| Getnet (Santander) Bank subsidiary (acquirer) · Global |
Acquirer | Visa Intelligent Commerce | Announced capability Vendor documented |
In development Integration stated as expected soon |
2026-06-09 | Source ↗ |
| Banco Santander Bank · ES |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Controlled test Processed on Santander's live infrastructure; explicitly not a commercial rollout |
2026-03-02 | Source ↗ |
| Banco Santander (Mexico) Bank · MX |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Real transaction (first case; scale unknown) Mastercard release: Santander supplied the card; Getnet accepted and processed; Mastercard local clearing. Both ends at GROUP level: issuing entity named only as Santander (likely Santander Mexico) and Getnet is a separate subsidiary |
2026-06 | Source ↗ |
| Santander (Latin America) Bank · LAC (country not stated) |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Controlled environment Santander among 17 issuers and processors that executed live, fully authorized Agent Pay transactions in controlled environments; country not stated; no acquirers named |
2026-03-24 | Source ↗ |
| Banco Santander Bank · ES |
Issuer | Visa Agentic Ready | Listed participant Design participation |
— Founding Europe issuer |
2026-03-17 | Source ↗ |
| Elavon (U.S. Bank) Bank subsidiary (acquirer) · US/EU |
Acquirer | Visa Trusted Agent Protocol | Named partner (feedback) Design participation |
— Visa credits Elavon among early partners giving feedback on TAP; weaker than program participation; no product or transaction found |
2025-10 | Source ↗ |
| U.S. Bank Bank · US |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Listed participant Candidate / unreviewed Secondary source only |
Early adopter Same group as Elavon |
2025-09 | Source ↗ |
| Wells Fargo Bank · US |
Acquirer | — | None found | — | 2026-10-15 | |
| Wells Fargo Bank · US |
Issuer | — | None found | — Reportedly joined the Agentic AI Foundation (secondary; not a payments program) |
2026-10-15 | |
| Westpac Bank · AU |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Controlled trial Westpac credit card used to book accommodation in Thredbo; processed through IPSI; acquirer not named |
2026-01-28 | Source ↗ |
| Westpac Bank · NZ |
Issuer | Mastercard Agent Pay | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Controlled demonstration Westpac-issued debit card used to buy cinema tickets from Event Cinemas; acquirer not named |
2026-02-17 | Source ↗ |
| Worldline Acquirer (non-bank) · EU |
Acquirer | Mastercard Agent Pay; Visa Intelligent Commerce | Completed transaction Demonstrated / pilot |
Production (Mastercard case) and live test (Visa case) Comparator: strongest non-bank acquirer evidence found. Release says Worldline is enabled across acceptance, acquiring, authentication and issuer processing |
2026-06-02 | Source ↗ |
| Worldpay Acquirer (non-bank) · US/GB |
Acquirer | ACP; Worldpay MCP | Announced capability Vendor documented |
— Comparator; MCP server launched 2025-11-24; owned by Global Payments since 12 Jan 2026 |
2025-10-29 | Source ↗ |
Is your organization missing or misclassified? Send a correction with a primary source; accepted changes are logged in What's changed. We are especially interested in completed transactions, which entity issued and which acquired, and whether it was a test, pilot or production. Research by AIVO, Inc., first published October 2026. Checked 2026-10-15.